The modes, or quadruplicities as they are known, represent the types of energy or character of the sign. There are three types of modes. Each of the modes contains four signs; one for each of the elements in the mode. The first mode is Cardinal which contains Aries (fire), Cancer (water), Libra (air), and Capricorn (earth). The next mode is Fixed which contains Leo (fire), Scoprio (water), Aquarius (air), and Taurus (earth). Lastly are Mutable signs whcih contains Sagittarius (fire), Pisces (water), Gemini (air), and Virgo (earth).

Aries, Libra, Cancer, Capricorn

Applies to the angular houses 1,4,7,10

People with an emphasis on cardinal signs have an urge to take the lead and to shape things. They are initiators and act according to their aims and goals. Cardinal people are do-ers of the first degree. They lead, are pioneers, and are often found in positions of power. Where ever you have a cardinal planet in your chart is where you are likely to show signs of action. People born in these signs are strong-willed and have a desire for accomplishment. They are the doers, the movers and shakers in the world. Also known as “executive” signs, Cardinal sign personalities like to be involved in major projects and to take charge of whatever needs to be done.

For example: Venus in a cardinal sign implies a desire to initiate or acquire love and money conditions in ones life.
~ FIXED Signs
Leo, Aquarius, Scorpio, Taurus

Applies to the succedent houses 2,5,8,11

People with an emphasis on the fixed signs have a desire to build on what is already there and to organize it more efficiently. They tend to preserve a “status quo” and act in response to given circumstances. These personalities are cautious and tend to be extremely stubborn. Their opinions and habits are not readily altered. They do not appreciate unexpected, sudden, or imposed changes. The tenacity of these personalities is a valuable asset in research or other areas where patience and stamina are required. Their cautious nature prevents unnecessary waste of their time, talent, and resources. As the word implies, fixed indicates a characteristic that is not easily changed and typically exhibits inflexibility.

For example: Mars in a fixed sign implies a strong desire to do operate (drive, ambition) in a certain, pre-defined manner.

Sagittarius, Gemini, Pisces, Virgo

Applies to the cadent houses 3,6,9,12

People with an emphasis on the mutable or common signs tend to seek change and renewal. They can easily replace one thing with another and align their actions with unfolding processes. These individuals have remarkable ability to adapt to all kinds of situations, making it easy for others to live and work with them. Their adaptability makes Mutable sign people survivors. However, their willingness to constantly adjust to the influence of other people’s situations can seriously inhibit the growth and development of their own talents and personalities.

For example: Jupiter (large, expansion) in a mutable sign might indicate too much giving or sacrifice on ones part.


Pin It on Pinterest